The DepEd Vision

We dream of Filipinos
who passionately love their country
and whose values and competencies
enable them to realize their full potential
and contribute meaningfully to building the nation.

As a learner-centered public institution,
the Department of Education
continuously improves itself
to better serve its stakeholders.

The DepEd Mission

To protect and promote the right of every Filipino to quality, equitable, culture-based, and complete basic education where:

Students learn in a child-friendly, gender-sensitive, safe, and motivating environment.
Teachers facilitate learning and constantly nurture every learner.
Administrators and staff, as stewards of the institution, ensure an enabling and supportive environment for effective learning to happen.
Family, community, and other stakeholders are actively engaged and share responsibility for developing life-long learners.

Our Core Values


Our Mandate

The Department of Education was established through the Education Decree of 1863 as the Superior Commission of Primary Instruction under a Chairman. The Education agency underwent many reorganization efforts in the 20th century in order to better define its purpose vis-a-vis the changing administrations and charters. The present day Department of Education was eventually mandated through Republic Act 9155, otherwise known as the Governance of Basic Education act of 2001 which establishes the mandate of this agency.

The Department of Education (DepEd) formulates, implements, and coordinates policies, plans, programs and projects in the areas of formal and non-formal basic education. It supervises all elementary and secondary education institutions, including alternative learning systems, both public and private; and provides for the establishment and maintenance of a complete, adequate, and integrated system of basic education relevant to the goals of national development.

Kalinga Core Values


Schools Division Office of Kalinga

Kalinga is a landlocked province located in the highlands of Cordillera, bounded on the east by Cagayan Valley, on the west by the province of Abra, on the south by Mt. Province and on the north by Apayao Province.

Kalinga-Apayao was a former sub-province of the old Mt. Province since the American times. It became a regular province in 1966 making Lubuagan as the town capital. When the late President Ferdinand Marcos declared Martial Law in 1972, a Presidential Order caused the regionalization of the entire country into 12 regions. Baguio and Benguet, Mt. Province and Abra were included in Region 1, Ifugao, and Kalinga-Apayao belonged to Region 02.

This political set-up remained in place from 1972 to 1987 so that by virtue of Executive Order No. 220 issued by the Late President Corazon Aquino, Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) was established. Kalinga-Apayao on the basis of geography and cultural identity was transferred from Region 02 to CAR.

For a period of nine (9) years, Kalinga-Apayao stood as one province not until the implementation of R.A 7878 in 1995 which created them separately as independent provinces until this time.

Kalinga is home to 182,326 people inhabiting an area of 311,974 hectares spread out in the seven municipalities and one component city and 152 barangays. It has a population density of 58 persons /sq. km and a population growth rate of 2.63 %.

Rugged and sloping terrain with mountain peaks ranging from 1,500 to 2,500 meters above sea level and an average temperature ranging from 17 to 22 degrees Celsius and a Type III weather patterns. The dry season extends from November to April. The rest of the year is considered rainy. The heaviest rains usually occur during the months of July to October.

A lone Congressional district and a third income class province. The city of Tabuk is the capital town and the primary growth center of the province.

The province is accessible by land in four directions. On the East by the Enrile, Cagayan-Tabuk road and the Quezon-Tabuk road; on the west by the Bontoc-Kalinga road; on the south by the Balbalan-Abra road, and on the south by the Pinukpuk-Conner, Apayao road.

DepEd Division of Kalinga-Apayao started to operate as a schools division under the Department of Education in 1966. In February 14, 1995 upon the approval of RA 7878, an Act converting the province of Kalinga-Apayao into two regular provinces to be known as the Province of Kalinga and Province of Apayao saw the birth also of the two schools divisions; the Kalinga Division and Apayao Division. Kalinga Division, then was comprised of 9 districts, namely: Balbalan District, Lubuagan District, Pasil District, Pinukpuk District, Rizal District, Tanudan District, Southern Tabuk District, Northern Tabuk District, Western Tabuk District and Tinglayan District while Apayao Division was comprised of the following districts; Calanasan District, Conner District, Kabugao District, Flora District, Pudtol District, Luna District and Sta. Ana District. With the approval of the cityhood of Tabuk City in 2013, the schools division of Tabuk City was created with four (4) districts, namely: Western Tabuk District, Eastern Tabuk District, Northern Tabuk District, and Souther Tabuk District.

At present, the Schools Division of Kalinga is composed of ten (10) Districts with two hundred (200) schools spread across all the districts of Eastern Balbalan, Western Balbalan, Lubuagan, Northern Pinukpuk, Southern Pinukpuk, Pasil, Rizal, Lower Tanudan, Upper Tanudan, and Tinglayan. Of these 193 schools, 163 are elementary schools, 30 are public secondary and 7 are private secondary schools which are manned by 760 elementary teachers, 331 secondary teachers in the public and 60 secondary teachers in the private schools.

Key Officials

Schools Division Superintendent

Public Schools District Supervisor
OIC – Office of the Assistant Schools Division Superintendent